Reviews of Piglets

We are quite taken aback by the kind comments our guests have written about us and Piglets following their stays. It makes all the hard work and dedication to give our guests a relaxing time and we hope treat them as they would expect to be looked after more as friends than just another guest.

New reviews will be added as they appear and to save you trolling through all to find a particular aspect that interests you, we have placed the reviews into categories they particularly focus on; to access these, simply click on the pig badges below which will take you to that particular collection of reviews.

We are extremely proud to receive Trip Advisor’s prestigious Travellers Choice award for 2021.

General Piglet comments

An unbiased review

Firstly I must disclose that the owners are parents of a close friend, yet those that know me would definitely still expect an unbiased review.
In short, the owners Chrissy and Max (AWT) have clearly put so much thought into their property, in order for their guests to have a wonderful stay.
The rooms and bathrooms are clean and created to a high spec, the natural pool is cold but amazing. The honour bar has a generous offering of about 30 different gins, and all the food is banging. Even first quality pastries are offered alongside a full English.
The games room is a great addition too, being able to wind down and relax while playing some snooker.
Will 100% return

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
Vernon 85 (May 2021)

Beautiful and relaxing weekend out of the city

Went to Piglets to get out of London for the weekend with my girlfriend.

It doesn’t get more 5 star than this. The food is ludicrously good, the rooms are beautiful, clean and full of cool extras (like a TV coming out of the foot of the bed!!) and the natural swimming pool is an absolute godsend when it’s hot outside. Hard to believe you’re still in England when the sun’s out. Chrissie & Max were awesome hosts too and there’s so much to do around the place – it’s great fun. Such a memorable weekend, would go back in a heartbeat!

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
Jake J (May 2021)

This is an exceptional B&B

So much thought has gone into the set up of this B&B opened in the summer of 2019. Our room was exceptionally well appointed with a very comfortable bed, lovely bathroom with large shower and just about everything else you could possibly need. There was a wide choice for breakfast and it was delicious. Lovely welcoming hosts keen to meet your needs to make the stay an enjoyable and memorable one. This is a truly exceptional B&B.

10 rating on Booking.com for Piglets Boutique B&B
Alan (Feb 2020)

Wonderful experience

I was one of the first guests to stay at the Piglets and the experience was truly wonderful. The rooms are very nicely decorated and clean and the atmosphere is very calming and peaceful. Max and Chrissie are the ultimate hosts and go out of their way to ensure your stay is unforgettable. The breakfast was delicious and nothing is too much trouble. Highly, highly recommended and I cannot wait to go back!
Isobel

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
Isobel McDonald (Sept 2019)

Exceptional

Lovely environment and rooms tremendous detail, fabulous hosts. Highly recommended

Nothing negative to say

10 rating on Booking.com for Piglets Boutique B&B
Cw (Sept 2019)

Wished we had stayed for longer

What a great find. Piglets is so more than a B&B! The facilities far exceeded my expectations and if only we had had the weather we would have loved to have made use of of the Mediterranean courtyard and swimming pond. It is clear that no expense has been spared and the attention to detail is exceptional. Breakfast was plentiful and cooked to perfection. Will definitely return

10 rating on Booking.com for Piglets Boutique B&B
Louise (Aug 2020)

Perfect

Accommodation was perfect. The hosts were lovely. Breakfast was superb. I can’t find a single fault in our stay there. Would definitely come back and highly recommend to anyone.

10 rating on Booking.com for Piglets Boutique B&B
Tanya (Aug 2020)

Excellent

Chrissie and Max are great hosts!! The rooms, food and facilities are top draw.

Business traveller, Leeds (Dec 2019)

Finest Boutique B& B - Perfect Retreat

Chrissie and Max are definitely the hosts with the mostest – what can we say but wow and thank you! You have really thought of everything, too much to list but here’s some; adult only high end luxury bedrooms and bathrooms, luxury sun beds around the stunning natural swimming pond, the water was so cold it took our breath away but what an amazing experience and we soon aclimatised. So much on offer on site from Pétanque in a little corner of France, games room with snooker table, darts etc. There’s even a small gym and a sauna for private hire. Then enter into the Italian inspired courtyard for lazy days and homemade cake, the most amazing food platters and honesty bar. All the food we sampled was the most amazing quality and taste, all food and breakfasts better than 4*\ 5* hotels. Max packed us up the best vegetarian picnic we have ever had which we took on a lovely stroll through the countryside complete with picnic rug and Prosecco. We can honestly say we left after a friends two nights stay feeling completely pampered and relaxed. Thanks so much Chrissie and Max, we were so lucky with the wonderful sunny weather but will be back as even in the cooler weather there’s the indoors games lounge to enjoy and your wonderful food and hospitality and lovely places to visit nearby like Saffron Walden and Audley End house and gardens, Helen & Alison x

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
HM (May 2021)

Fantastic

Could not fault a thing. Lovely place with friendly people.

10 rating on Booking.com for Piglets Boutique B&B
Darren (Feb 2020)

Amazing place to stay

What a find, delightful room, with everything you would expect of a Boutique room and more.
Chrissie and Max are great hosts, nothing is too much trouble or over looked by them.
Food, especially breakfast and Chrissie’s cake was perfect.

Definitely will be back.

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
Julie D (Dec 2020)

Great hidden gem

Max and Chrissie are a lovely couple and did everything to maximise our comfort during the stay

10 rating on Booking.com for Piglets Boutique B&B
Raymond (Sept 2019)

Excellent

Really good Thankyou , we were made so welcome.

Richard (Nov 2019)

Fantastic, no complaints whatsoever, would recommend in a heartbeat

Food was fantastic quality.. extremely nice owners, would recommend in a heart beat, lovely stay, look forward to going back in the summer to use the pool.

10 rating on Booking.com for Piglets Boutique B&B
Laura (Nov 2019)

Best staycation!!!

Very ideal, clean, spacious rooms! On arriving we were greeted by Chrissie and Max showing us around and they added to our enjoyable stay. Very helpful and friendly! We definitely made the right choice and will be coming back!

10 rating on Booking.com for Piglets Boutique B&B
Janet (Aug 2020)

I loved it!

LikedIt was wonderful – everything was brilliant

DislikedNothing could be improved

10 rating on Booking.com for Piglets Boutique B&B
Paul (Aug 2020)

Exceptional

Wonderful stay in a beautiful place.

10 rating on Booking.com for Piglets Boutique B&B
Greg (Sept 2019)

Peace and tranquillity with exceptional facilities

For the first weekend away of the year, we couldn’t have stumbled upon a more splendid place. Set in the countryside, with gorgeous field views, it’s perfect for a relaxing break. The hosts, Max and Chrissie have found their calling in their B&B, with the perfect balance of ensuring you’re happy and settled and leaving you to enjoy your stay and feeling like the B&B is your second home. So let me get started…

The rooms – these have everything you would want and are a fantastic size and very comfortable. More USB ports than you can shake a lead at. There’s also an aircon unit that you can use to cool down or add extra heat also if so needed. The luxury bathrooms have either walk in rain showers or high end baths with rain shower. Superbly clean and with a lovely heated towel rack for those fluffy towels.

The all important sleep – The beds – they’re hypnos mattresses and you just don’t want to leave them! The linen is exquisite and you get a choice of two pillows…but both of them felt like your head is resting on a cloud.

Food – This is NOT your standard B&B…there is large menu for breakfast and every dish, they cook from scratch (and you can watch them doing it through the big glass window that separates the kitchen from the dining area). Do NOT expect to go hungry – the breakfasts set you up for the day. Fresh apple juice from their own apples, made to order fruit salad (not left on the side of a buffet like most B&Bs), freshly made preserves and honey from a local beekeeper. There’s a list on the menu too so you can see where all their produce come from (so we now have some of the sausages that were in the all English breakfast…never tasted anything quite so tasty!). And who doesn’t want to be offered a complimentary bloody mary shot when you sit down – you are on holiday after all!

Leisure facilities – I really enjoyed the natural swimming pond each morning – it’s not heated (I’m a wild water swimmer lover) so it was lovely to just swim in ultra clean and non chlorinated water. There’s also a gym that’s been newly set up to keep those love handles away from all the food…and a huge games room with darts, billiards and ping pong. There’s also croquet and Petanque but the weather wasn’t the best for that when we visited.

I mentioned earlier that this isn’t your standard B&B – you can order lunch and also dinner. We didn’t have the lunch but had a sharing charcuterie board one evening. Max makes the most mouthwatering Abroath pate! You can either eat in the dining room which is lovely and relaxed or in better weather, enjoy eating alfresco on the amazing Mediterranean patio. Somehow it doesn’t really feel like you’re in Essex!
So with all the above and then the shared sitting room where you can relax and enjoy a glass of wine or cocktail from the phenomenally stocked honesty bar..it’s just a wonderful place and incredible value for money. It’s a bonus it being adult only, with never more than 10 guests at a time.

Max and Chrissie really have thought of everything and are a marvellously hospital couple. We only stayed a few nights, and have already decided a return trip is on the cards, but this time for longer! This place just feels incredibly special.

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
Charlotte T (June 2021)

Perfect Piglets

Stayed at Piglets for two nights and everything was just perfect from the warm welcome we received from Chrissie upon arrival to the lovely touch of a complimentary bottle of wine on our departure. Piglets is a very special place not like any other B&B. Max and Chrissie – the owners really do their very best to make you feel like you are staying at an old friends house for the weekend. Their attention to detail and passion for what they do shines through everywhere. Loved the honesty bar, the freshwater pool, the wonderful generous sharing platters and a delicious breakfast both mornings. A truly unique place in the beautiful Essex countryside.

Whenever we visit our friends nearby we will be sure to stay again. Thanks Max and Chrissie.

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
LondonMac1 (May 2021)

A wonderful B&B!

We loved our stay here at Piglets Boutique B and B! It has such a lovely homely feel in the room and all the other facilities. The honesty bar is also a great addition for when you fancy a little treat in the evening without going far. Breakfast the next morning was delicious with a wide range to choose from. Max and Chrissie were also great hosts who were very welcoming and full of knowledge about the local area. Highly recommend coming here, you won’t be disappointed!

10 rating on Booking.com for Piglets Boutique B&B
Anonymous (Feb 2020)

A perfect staycation!

The property is a perfect treat for a getaway break where from the moment you arrive until you leave you are continuously impressed and wowed by the fabulous fine finishers and attention to detail!

10 rating on Booking.com for Piglets Boutique B&B
Lisa (July 2020)

Just wonderful

If you fancy a few days away full of the best breakfasts, picnic platters, a swimming pond, an honesty bar and some cocktail making to name just a few extras to this beautiful B&B. 

Get to Piglets near Saffron Walden. Super hosts and stunning environment both inside and out. Get booking. Thank you Chrissie and Max.

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
Leesee (July 2020)

Spectacular!

This place is an absolute gem! The attention to detail around the property is amazing – it is super comfortable, spacious and extremely relaxing. Chrissie and Max go above and beyond for their guests, the cooked breakfasts and platter options are incredible. We also loved the honesty bar, with a huge array of beverage options. The natural swimming pond was fantastic, it was super refreshing for a dip. We loved our time here – we just wish it was longer! Can’t wait to visit again. Thanks Chrissie & Max!

10 rating on Booking.com for Piglets Boutique B&B
Kate (Aug 2020)

The place is amazing! The owners are super nice and we had some welcome cookies. Delicious!

Like – The breakfast was really good.

DislikedNothing everything was perfect.

10 rating on Booking.com for Piglets Boutique B&B
Gregory (July 2020)

Beautiful place to totally relax

From the minute we arrived Max and Chrissie made us feel completely at home. The facilities are great from the natural pond to the gym and games room there’s plenty to do rain or shine. The food is all delicious with the extra little touches like the Ginchello and Bloody Mary’s keep life interesting. There’s a weekly market just down the road and you’re half an hour from Cambridge for a day out.

We will definitely be back again.

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
Jack L (May 2021)

A memorable and unique experience

We booked this at the last minute uncertain what to expect of a boutique b&b. It was a pleasant stay exceeding our expectations. Our room was furnished state of the art with great attention to detail and all the amenities expected of a hotel. Guest areas were tastefully decorated. The breakfast menu has an extensive selection of options and freshly prepared.

Tour de France | B&B | Essex B&B | Cycling | | Piglets Boutique B&B

The offer of an evening platter was very welcome after a day of cycling with access to a bar. Chrissie and Max made us feel very welcome and we look forward to returning in the future.

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
Culture11142062104 (Aug 2019)

More luxury hotel than B&B

Max and Chrissie made our stay at the fabulous boutique Piglets B&B absolutely perfect. From the moment of our arrival on Friday evening to leaving on Saturday morning nothing was too much trouble. Luxury rooms with complimentary toiletries, teas and coffee, even a proper ironing board, iron and hair drier! 

Licensed honour bar | Fully stocked honour bar | Gin library at boutique B&B

A platter for two was offered in the evening and a large communal area where you can eat or just watch TV while enjoying the excellent wines from the finest honesty bar we have ever seen! Not only wines but beers and a huge assortment of all spirits and mixers too. As good a selection as any top hotel bar and at incredible prices! So no need to drive anywhere for food or drink, just forget the car and enjoy the fabulous natural swimming pool and a Lloyds standard gym, plus games, DVDs and books galore! Breakfast was a luxury feast. My wife anjoyed an Arbroath Smokie with poached egg while I went for the best Full English ever with proper bacon and the most amazing sausages I have ever eaten. 

Full English | Best full English breakfast | Breakfast at B&B | Piglets full English | Piglets Boutique B&B breakfast

And all the while Max and Chrissie are working away making our stay perfect yet being the most convivial and generous hosts ever! We cannot recommend this place high enough and only wish we could afford them more stars for style, elegance, comfort of rooms (did I mention the luxurious comfort of the bed and best sleep ever?) surroundings, relaxing peace and tranquillity and fantastic company. Max and Chrissie are truly the hosts with absolutely the most. We can’t wait for a return visit in the very near future

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
64anthony (March 2020)

Our bedrooms

Wonderfully relaxing stay

My partner and I stayed at Piglets Boutique B&B a couple of weekends ago and enjoyed our stay there very much. We decided to pick Ashdon as our room of choice as we were won over by the private balcony that overlooks the beautiful swimming pond. It’s such a lovely room, with a wonderful comfy bed and all the necessities you could wish for. 

Gin library honour bar at Piglets Boutique B&B

Max & Chrissie were such brilliant hosts that looked after us from the get go! From delicious coffee and cake in the afternoon, to the Eggs Royale in the morning. The food was perfect! And not forgetting the Honour Bar with fabulous gin offerings, cocktails and beer snacks! Wish we’d booked for a longer stay as it was so relaxing and peaceful. I can’t wait to book our next visit!

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
Emilie J (July 2020)

Emma Collins recommends

Wow Piglets Corner is amazing! Everything about it exceeded my expectations of a b&b. The hosts Chrissie and Max are friendly, welcoming and couldn’t do more to make our stay more enjoyable. The food was delicious (especially the homemade cookies and fruit cake!), the honesty bar is a lovely touch, our room (Widdington) had everything you’d expect from a 5* hotel! Could have stayed in the shower for hours!! We will definitely be returning in the summer to experience the natural pool. Thank you for having us and see you soon!

Facebook rating | Luxury Bed & breakfast | Luxury hotels | Small hotels | Cambridge hotels | Piglets Boutique B&B
(Nov 2019)

5 stars and more...

Piglets Boutique exceeded our expectations. Chrissie and Max were excellent hosts and made us feel very welcome. 

We stayed for three nights in the Sampford room, featuring a very comfortable super-king bed with built-in TV overlooking the Mediterranean patio. The breakfasts were amazing! Highly recommended for a relaxing break.

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
Putty_Riffo (July 2020)

Wonderful and unique place to stay

We stayed only for one night, but wish it had been longer. The accommodation is very comfortable and stylish and the hosts are very welcoming. The food and honesty bar are great additions to this accommodation as it is in a fairly remote area. We will definitely return.

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
Noreen07 (Oct 2019)
10 rating on Booking.com for Piglets Boutique B&B
Laura (Nov 2019)

Amazing little find!

Wow Piglets Corner is amazing! Everything about it exceeded my expectations of a b&b. The hosts Chrissie and Max are friendly, welcoming and couldn’t do more to make our stay more enjoyable. The food was delicious (especially the homemade cookies and fruit cake!), the honesty bar is a lovely touch, our room (Widdington) had everything you’d expect from a 5* hotel! Could have stayed in the shower for hours!! We will definitely be returning in the summer to experience the natural pool. Thank you for having us and see you soon!

Widdington en-suite super-king bedroom at Piglets Boutique B&B

We will definitely be returning in the summer to experience the natural pool. Thank you for having us and see you soon!

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
Emma C (Nov 2019)

This is an exceptional B&B

Our room was exceptionally well appointed with a very comfortable bed, lovely bathroom with large shower and just about everything else you could possibly need. Lovely welcoming hosts keen to meet your needs to make the stay an enjoyable and memorable one.

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
Jet48157 (Jan 2020)

Sharon Schofield recommends

We had a wonderful stay at Piglets with amazing hosts Chrissie and Max who pulled all the stops out to make our stay nothing less than spectacular. We stayed in Ashdon which was stylish, luxurious and immaculate. Wonderful deep bath, rainforest shower and possibly the most comfortable bed I’ve ever slept in. We had the sumptuous valentines banquet with wine which was exceptional and incredibly reasonable at £60 per head.
It was really special and we can’t wait to return in the summer for a dip in the pond!!
It really is home from home and we were thoroughly spoilt.

Facebook rating | Luxury Bed & breakfast | Luxury hotels | Small hotels | Cambridge hotels | Piglets Boutique B&B
(Feb 2020)

Valentines treat

We had a wonderful stay at Piglets with amazing hosts Chrissie and Max who pulled all the stops out to make our stay nothing less than spectacular. 

Ashdon private balcony at Piglets Boutique B&B

We stayed in Ashdon which was stylish, luxurious and immaculate. Wonderful deep bath, rainforest shower and possibly the most comfortable bed I’ve ever slept in. We had the sumptuous valentines banquet with wine which was exceptional and incredibly reasonable at £60 per head.
It was really special and we can’t wait to return in the summer for a dip in the pond!!
It really is home from home and we were thoroughly spoilt

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
Exploration638554 (Feb 2020)

Relaxing at Piglets

I didn’t want to leave

I stayed at Piglets B & B over the August bank holiday and had a lovely weekend there. Chrissie and Max are perfect hosts and made me feel so welcome. I was greeted every morning with a cheery smile from them both and a genuine interest in what my day ahead had in store. I even received a text message one afternoon asking if I’d like a platter made up for later that evening. It was like staying with kind, generous and caring friends.

My room was lovely, clean, a good size with a super comfortable bed, and was well-furnished with a homely feel about it. The in-room tea and coffee making facilities consisted of a wide selection of quality teas and coffees, along with some good-sized mugs to enjoy them in. The breakfast menu had a great selection to choose from and included all of the usuals choices plus a few more. The sharing platters are huge and simply delicious.

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
Steph B (Aug 2019)

A wonderful relaxing treat

Bed was really comfy and the room was spotlessly clean. The hosts were so kind and helpful and went the extra mile on everything.

10 rating on Booking.com for Piglets Boutique B&B
Catherine (Feb 2020)

Joanne Williams recommends

What a great little spot for a short weekend break. I had heard some good things from friends and it certainly did not disappoint. Chrissy met us when we arrived and showed us round the place. The rooms are really roomy and thoughtfully put together, with the small touches making for a really comfortable stay. The bed was insanely comfy!! We stayed for the special Valentine’s Day weekend and had a fabulous 5 course meal cooked by Max and Chrissy. We really felt looked after and special to be their guests. We would certainly go back again, maybe this time in the summer

Facebook rating | Luxury Bed & breakfast | Luxury hotels | Small hotels | Cambridge hotels | Piglets Boutique B&B
(Feb 2020)

Better than being in a 5 star hotel

Don’t usually write reviews but this one needs to be done me and my wife came from saffron Walden for a break and it was blooming brilliant it felt like being abroad but only ten minutes from home everything was brilliant from the room to the Mediterranean garden swimming pool was cool gym had everything to keep you happy and now the food oh my giddy aunt blooming lovely I had fish platter and my wife had a plough mans one absolutely lovely and now the hosts max and chrissie parker what a lovely couple and couldn’t be more helpful couldn’t ask for anyone better absolute stars to go with a 5 star b and b.

Piglets Boutique B&B across the swimming pond at night
Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
Darren H (July 2020)

Wonderful!!

My boyfriend and I visited Piglets on a whim, as we just wanted to get away for a night quite locally. We randomly came across Piglets and how glad we were that we did, as it’s a little gem of a place.
Recently opened but you wouldn’t know as there were no teething problems you might expect from somewhere new.

The room was perfectly appointed with a lovely balcony overlooking the swimming pond (dragonflies a plenty!) where we had our morning cuppa.

Ashdon super-king en-suite bedroom at Piglets Boutique B&B

Lots of lovely touches which give it the luxury touch; lovely bedding and bed linen, homemade cookies, fabulous shower, water and a wide selection of quality teas and coffees in the room.

We loved the communal areas where we could relax and read and play cards. Great bar!!
Breakfast was delicious with a great menu and very well cooked.

It’s set in a quiet country location so very peaceful too. Chrissie and Max couldn’t do enough without being intrusive. We will definitely return!

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
Greenie1595 (Oct 2019)

Fantastic place to relax and unwind!

My daughter and I enjoyed our 1 night stay. Loved everything about this place. The breakfast and choices are amazing. Definitely return soon

10 rating on Booking.com for Piglets Boutique B&B
Julie (Aug 2020)

Top class stay

What a perfect stay! Can not fault. Luxury, such hospitable hosts, fabulous grounds and surrounding area, they’ve pretty much thought of every little detail to make your stay top rated, relaxing. Evening mixed fish/ meat platter and the breakfast is delicious and home cooked – highly recommended, honesty bar is a lovely touch which is very well stocked. Overall a really great stay and will re- book when next down that way!

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
jeanette K (Oct 2019)

Wow factor

For any one wanting a luxury B&B where the hosts Chrissie and Max go above and beyond for you in a peaceful, comfortable, idyllic location then this really is for you. I can not stress how impressed we were with this facility. The room was exceptional, very clean , well equipped with storage and the bed was so comfortable this all added up to a fabulous weekend stay. 

Ploughman's platter at Piglets Boutique B&B

Breakfast was delicious, we also ordered a ploughman’s platter for Saturday evening and it was wonderful. The honesty bar is a brilliant idea and was well stocked with everything you could possibly want to relax and unwind after a day exploring with a refreshing tipple. We will definitely stay again.

10 rating on Booking.com for Piglets Boutique B&B
Jan (Mar 2020)

Our food & honour bar

The perfect weekend getaway

Stayed with my girlfriend for a few days and can definitely say, we’ll be returning! Every aspect was top notch and Chrissie & Max added the cherry on top with a super personalised touch. My girlfriend and I are vegan and they both went out of their way to accommodate us which we really appreciated. We had a brilliant time and will be returning very soon. Cheers!

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
Viv S (June 2021)

Superb stay! Highly recommended

It is really hard not to wax lyrical about this wonderful place. Chrissie and Max made us feel part of the family from the moment we arrived.

The food: We were greeted on arrival with homemade lemon cookies. There was a warm lime and pistachio cake for afternoon tea. 
A platter on the patio & a glass of chilled Pinot at Piglets Boutique B&B

We ordered platters for lunch on the Saturday and were amazed by the quality and diversity of the ingredients including a delicious homemade mackerel pate, some wonderful charcuterie but not just any old ham, these were with fennel and chilli and olives. Everything we tasted was delicious (so much so that we actually cancelled our dinner reservations to stay and eat more of their delicious offerings).

Smoked Salmon & scrammbled eggs at Piglets Boutique B&B

Not to forget breakfast which was outstanding on every level, we were welcomed with freshly baked pastries and a mini Bloody Mary. The eggs are from hens you can see from your window and the smoked salmon was out of this world. I’m not sure I could ever eat other smoked salmon again.

Free range chickens at boutique B&B | Farm fresh eggs for bed & breakfast | Boutique B&B own chickens

The rooms and the surroundings: Totally and completely relaxing, everything in the room was luxurious and welcoming with lovely touches like amaretti biscuits and fresh milk for the coffee. The swimming pond is just beautiful, the water was so refreshing and lying by the pool with a glass of rose was the most wonderful way to spend a sunny Saturday. The gardens are immaculate with beautiful flowers and plants everywhere and perfectly tended to.

 

The service: I mean it is like spending the weekend with really kind friends. From the minute we arrived I felt relaxed and at home. Chrissie and Max are without a doubt two of the nicest people I have met, they even indulged us by spending some of their Saturday evening listening to us rattle on.

Their honesty bar is fully stocked with everything you could ever need, including the most delightful G+T garnish station with homemade dried fruit garnishes, pink peppercorns juniper and herbs.

Piglets is the most wonderful B&B I have had the pleasure to stay in and I cannot wait to return.

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
KaraColegrave (July 2020)

Amazing B&B

So glad we have found this jewel of a B&B. Chrissie and Max are perfect hosts, so welcoming and they have thought of everything. The room was gorgeous, very comfortable and well thought out. The setting is lovely and it would be great to return in the summer months and try out the swimming pond. I need to make a special mention of the food – it was all absolutely incredible and beautifully presented (we had an evening meal and the breakfast) ..they cater for all dietary requirements and my meals were definitely the tastiest vegetarian options I’ve had. 

Vegetable curry at Piglets Boutique B&B

So much choice for breakfast too. Lots of nice touches like the honesty bar, fresh milk in the rooms for tea/coffee and the tea and homemade cakes in the lounge area after we checked in. Very close to Saffron Walden which is great to wander around too.
I just wish we’d booked for two nights rather than one!

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
polly_hain (Jan 2020)

Fabulous Piglets!

Fabulous luxury B & B, great eye for details with lovely touches. Very impressively stocked honesty bar followed next morning by super breakfast. All food been carefully locally sourced with best sausage and black pudding ever! Will definitely be going back to see Max and Chrissie again once natural pool is warmer.

Full English | Best full English breakfast | Breakfast at B&B | Piglets full English | Piglets Boutique B&B breakfast
Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
Nichola B (Jan 2020)

Wonderful welcoming stunning B&B

Valentines Day Special. Total treat. Chrissie and Max pulled out all the stops to give us a really great time. Fabulous supper with a flight of wines, and then off-menu special breakfast in the morning, all cooked by the very talented Max.  They are perfect hosts. Thanks guys!

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
Alan H (Feb 2020)

Immaculate

There is nothing that has been missed at Piglets. Chrissie and Max make you feel like family from the moment you walk it. They have found the perfect balance between making their retreat warm and welcoming, but with all the attention to detail you would expect from a 5 star hotel. The pictures on their website does not do this place justice. From the coffee machine in the room, to the attention Chrissie and Max have paid to detail in the decor, bedding and linen you will not leave feeling dissatisfied. 

Eggs Benedict at Piglets Boutique B&B

The breakfast, platters and breakfast are delicious and so carefully prepared, you could be at a restaurant (I have never eaten so well) and the Honours Bar is a perfect addition, especially during this time of uncertainty, when going to the pub can be a stressful and uncomfortable experience. Chrissy and Max make sure you have everything you need. I cannot say enough about Piglets. It is perfect for a Staycation or Vacation. Thank you Max and Chrissie for a beautiful weekend.

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
rekunde (July 2020)

Madeleine Bloomfield recommends

We have just returned from having a night away at Piglets. This place exceeded all expectations. Our room was spotlessly clean with homemade cookies on our bed for our arrival and afternoon cake whilst we sunbathed by the pool. The hosts could not of done anymore for us and cooked us the most amazing breakfast along with delicious pastries and homemade granola. Needless to say we will be returning as soon as we can

Facebook rating | Luxury Bed & breakfast | Luxury hotels | Small hotels | Cambridge hotels | Piglets Boutique B&B
(July 2020)

Wow what an amazing place !!

Everything has been thought about to make your stay perfect. Just had a couple of nights there and enjoyed every minute. Chrissie and Max are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble….
Breakfast was perfect from fresh fruit, every choice of cereal to a delicious full English Breakfast with pastries ….plus a cheeky breakfast Bloody Mary or Red Snapper if wanted 🤪

Complimentary Bloody Mary & French pastries at Piglets Boutique B&B


The B&B is in striking distance of Saffron Walden and Cambridge so great for leisure and business.
Highly recommend a stay here .. we are definitely going back 🥰

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
FionaJeffery (Oct 2019)

Night away

Really enjoyed our stay at Piglets. The owners were very considerate and couldn’t do enough for us. The B&B is in a beautiful spot, is reasonably priced and the room we stayed in was excellent. Breakfast and a sharing platter we ordered for the night before was delicious with really superb quality produce. We look forward to returning some time in the near future

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
Catherine W (Nov 2019)

Wonderful room, wonderful hosts, wonderful breakfasts

PIGLETS What a treat! This is an especially welcoming, relaxing place in a beautiful country setting just outside of Saffron Walden. Chrissie and Max are perfect hosts. 

Old Sun Inn at Saffron Walden|Piglets Boutique B&B

The whole place was warm and cosy on a cold January weekend. Many lovely touches including tea and homemade cake each day in their beautiful and comfortable guest lounge; homemade biscuits in our room with a great selection of teas and coffees. 

Homemade room treats at Piglets Boutique B&B

The room was perfect with an exceptionally comfortable bed and great walk-in shower. All of the food was delicious, much of it made with wonderful-tasting local ingredients (we had the evening winter warmer meals and the breakfasts which kept us going all day). We very much appreciated the wealth of local information that Max was able to provide. Basically, Piglets provide everything as stated on their website with heart-felt welcome and enthusiasm thrown in

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
Jet481576 (Jan 2020)

Excepional

Everything has been thought about to make your stay perfect. Just had a couple of nights there and enjoyed every minute. Chrissie and Max are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble….
Breakfast was perfect from fresh fruit, every choice of cereal to a delicious full English Breakfast with pastries ….plus a cheeky breakfast Bloody Mary or Red Snapper if wanted 🤪

10 rating on Booking.com for Piglets Boutique B&B
Geoffrey (Aug 2020)

Covid cleanliness/policies & post lock-down visits

First outing since March lockdown - couldn’t have chosen a better place

So much to like about Piglets – Chrissie and Max were super friendly and professional, the setting is so lovely and rural, accommodation was superb. We opened our curtains to a beautiful natural swimming area. 

Charcuterie platter at Piglets Boutqiue B&B

However, the star of the show for me was the food – we had a platter before heading out and we couldn’t honesty have stayed and eaten all evening, fresh hams, mixed cheeses, warm bread, salmon and sauces, loads of different Mediterranean flavoured titbits like sun dried tomatoes with Garlic, you get the picture! Breakfast was equally delicious and nothing was any trouble – you could tell the produce was all local and farmed. Really enjoyable stay and will defo be going back

10 rating on Booking.com for Piglets Boutique B&B
Steve (July 2020)

Absolutely superb!

We first visited Piglets back in March, just before Lockdown, and decided to return for a one-night break as part of our first proper trip out to meet family on an Essex beach.

Max and Chrissie are wonderful hosts and the accommodation is luxurious and immaculate. We had a very relaxing afternoon sitting in the Mediterranean garden followed by a game of Scrabble in the lounge.

Guest Lounge at Piglets Boutique B&B

We shared a mixed platter for dinner, including the best smoked salmon I have ever tasted, with wine from an extensive honour bar.

Breakfast was amazing, with french pastries, coffee, local apple juice and a freshly made fruit salad (my favourite way to start the day!) but there was an extensive choice of cooked dishes available as well.

Our only disappointment was that we only stayed for one night, but hope to return soon for a weekend…

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
rednoble (July 2020)

Amazing stay!

We have just returned from having a night away at Piglets. This place exceeded all expectations. Our room was spotlessly clean with homemade cookies on our bed for our arrival and afternoon cake whilst we sunbathed by the pool.

Covid 19 precautions at luxury B&B | Coronavirus policy at boutique B&B

 The hosts could not have done anymore for us and cooked us the most amazing breakfast along with delicious pastries and homemade granola. Needless to say we will be returning as soon as we can.

10 rating on Booking.com for Piglets Boutique B&B
Matthew (July 2020)

Brilliant stay

Chrissie and Max were the perfect hosts. The place was spotless and the breakfast superb. Although not completely finished when we stayed it did not affect our stay. When the place is complete it will be even better if that’s possible. Would definitely return if in the area again

5 start hygiene & food rating | Food hygiene rating of 5
Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
edster66me (Sept 2019)

Our facilites

Exceptional

This is more than just a bed and breakfast. Wonderful food, bedrooms and bathrooms were immaculate. Pool was great, gym, bikes, games, lots of outside space etc. The owners have thought hard to please their guests and we were very happy during our stay. Will be back!!

10 rating on Booking.com for Piglets Boutique B&B
Nigel (Aug 2020)

Natasha Bin Hughes recommends

What a wonderful experience.
We visited for a mini getaway and it did not disappoint.
Secluded, quiet, luxurious it was perfect to relax.
We met the lovely Chrissie when we arrived in the evening and had a delicious mixed platter made by super Chef Max! – preorder by 3pm.
They have thought of everything, it is clean, well thought out with attention to detail and quaint (and piglet) features throughout!

From the balcony at Ashdon bedroom at Piglets Boutique B&B


We even dipped in the all natural swimming pond, completely chemical free and 100% refreshing in September! Soon to be heated along with a games room and a gym… wow!
We visited the market town of Saffron Walden on Market day but missed out on Chrissie’s afternoon cake!
In the mornings we went to the local CrossFit box Bearwalden for a workout so we could make room for their amazing breakfast, by far the best we’ve had – and we’ve had a lot of hotel breakfasts!
Everything was superb, we’re excited to tell our friends and organise another mini break at Piglet Boutique!

Facebook rating | Luxury Bed & breakfast | Luxury hotels | Small hotels | Cambridge hotels | Piglets Boutique B&B
(Sept 2019)

Chrissie and Max were so helpful and friendly, we really enjoyed our stay

Swimming pond, home made cake, Mediterranean garden…

10 rating on Booking.com for Piglets Boutique B&B
Helen (Aug 2020)

An amazing find...

The gallops at Newmarket | Visit Newmarket races and stay at luxury B&B | Boutique luxury B&B near Newmarket races

A great room, welcome, food and attention to detail…
We called on the way to Chelmsford races, but equally handy for Stansted just off the M11. Only four rooms at present, but will be seven when Max and Chrissie have finished their work in progress.
Awesome breakfasts and dont miss the evening platters. They are for sharing and one is ample for two people !
We will be back, what a fabulous change from the homogenised hotel chains…!

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
BernieYork (Sept 20219

Our location

Luxury in the countryside

I stayed at Piglets for a weekend as I was in the area for a party and have discovered a jewel nestling in the beautiful countryside. The owners Max and Chrissie go the extra mile on every front to ensure your stay is perfect. Rooms are well appointed, beautifully decorated and the bed so large and comfortable I didn’t want to get out of it! They also have AC, and (sorry eco-warriors) it was bliss as the day was very hot. Breakfast was a delight with a really good menu to choose from. 

TV room at Piglets Boutique B&B

Also to enjoy is the cosy guest lounge, a TV area and numerous outside areas to sit and relax and let the world go by. Max and Chrissie have created a unique B & B with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere and as I was travelling on my own I really appreciated their kindness and I will definitely be back

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
Caro (Aug 2019)

Excellent value accommodation, handy for Chesterford Research Park

An exceptional place to stay if in the Saffron Walden or Chesterford Research Park area. A lovely breakfast with homemade marmalades and granola. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend to anyone.

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
Stephen (Oct 2019)

Outstanding property with charming hosts

We loved our stay here in the English countryside. The property is spacious and comfortable with plenty of great rooms to relax, read and drink in. The breakfast was completely delicious. Chrissie and Max are charming hosts. This was special in every way. Thank you both:-

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
Steve M (Oct 2019)

Pre Duxford stay

I stayed just 1 night at Piglets, prior to a day at Duxford. 

Imperial War Museum Duxford | Piglets Boutique B&B

I stayed just 1 night at Piglets, prior to a day at Duxford. The rooms and environment are fabulous a real credit to Chrissie and Max who offered a very warm welcome. The attention to detail in the new annex is very impressive and special features such as ankle sensitive lights to save turning lights on at night are great.
Breakfast was as good as the overall experience. Highly recommended.

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
CHOG873 (Sept 2019)

An amazing find...

The gallops at Newmarket | Visit Newmarket races and stay at luxury B&B | Boutique luxury B&B near Newmarket races

A great room, welcome, food and attention to detail…
We called on the way to Chelmsford races, but equally handy for Stansted just off the M11. Only four rooms at present, but will be seven when Max and Chrissie have finished their work in progress.
Awesome breakfasts and dont miss the evening platters. They are for sharing and one is ample for two people !
We will be back, what a fabulous change from the homogenised hotel chains…!

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
BernieYork (Sept 20219

Return visitors

2nd visit, and still fabulous

We visited Piglets in February 2020 to “scope” it for our family party attending a wedding.
Sadly, the wedding was postponed due to C-19, but we decided to avail ourselves of the booking anyway. But to stay for longer.

And both the accommodation and the food was, like Mary Poppins, practically perfect in almost every way. Fabulous.

It is, of course, reserved for the wedding at the new date. And we are very much looking forward to this next visit.

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
ChilledMama671 (July 2020)

Return visit

It was so good we went again!

The owners bring understated 5 star creativity to every aspect of Piglets.

It’s just a delight to be surprised at every turn.

It’s a bit off the beaten track which brings that extra feeling of being away on a real holiday when you’ve only been there for 48hours!

A bit chilly for a dip in the nature pool so another trip beckons when the weather warms up

Radwinter bedroom seen across the fields at Piglets Boutique B&B

It’s a bit off the beaten track which brings that extra feeling of being away on a real holiday when you’ve only been there for 48hours!

A bit chilly for a dip in the nature pool so another trip beckons when the weather warms up

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
Mark J (Dec 2019)

Perfect stay

I have stayed at Piglets twice , once just as they opened in July and again in October and both stays were fantastic. If anything Max and Chrissie have improved it since that first week and they really are hosts par excellence. The atmosphere created there is both relaxing and friendly and the house and grounds are beautiful but unpretentious. I felt looked after and would certainly return again. Highly recommended.

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
Susie C (Nov 2019)

Another amazing stay

Our second visit to the incredible Piglets Boutique B&B. The attention to detail from Chrissie and Max made our stay so delightful.
Our evening vegetarian platter was delicious as was the breakfast!
The room was clean and the grounds are immaculate.
We will be visiting again soon!

Trip Advisor 5 star rating at Piglets Boutique B&B
Matt (May 2021)